Spokane Central Lions Club

1212 N. Howard Street

Spokane, Washington 99201



Now is the time to start thinking about the nomination of a Spokane Central Lion for the Rob Worley Leadership Award. This award will be given to someone from the Club who has shown leadership abilities both within the Club and the community. There are many members of our Club who have shown this leadership and they need to be recognized. Nominations will be accepted through June 9, 2020. At that time someone will be chosen (by a Lion from another Lions Club) and the award will be given during the installation of our new officers in June.

Please send your nominations via snail mail to Sandy Eberle at 5025 N. Argonne Ln. #4, Spokane, WA 99212 or by email at or in person at the regular Tuesday meetings. Nominations should include the name of the person being nominated and a brief write up of why they are being nominated. If you have nominated someone in the past and they have not received the award or if your nominee was chosen before, they can be nominated again. Members from SCL who have been recipients of this award include PDG Laura Wintersteen-Arleth, John Wilson, Roger Arleth, Bob Scheel, Jerry Williams, Scott Opperud, Bill Bunch, Cliff Miller and Lee Teichmer.

For those members who are not familiar with who Lion Rob Worley was, he joined Spokane Central Lions in 1994 sponsored by Lion Jim Morris. He quickly went up through the ranks serving as President from 1998-1999, Zone Chair from 1999-2000, Vice District Governor from 2001-2002, and as MD19E District Governor in 2002-2003. He was the recipient of the Melvin Jones Fellow award and the International President’s Award along with many other Lionism awards. He was married to Sandy (Eberle) for 25 years before his passing in August of 2003. Rob’s motto during his year as DG was “Growing Lion Leaders” thus the reason the Rob Worley Leadership Award was established.



Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online