Virgil and Macel Harris Scholarship

This scholarship was established by the Durbin Lions Club to honor the memory of Virgil and Macel Harris who displayed both moral character and integrity throughout their years of service to Pocahontas Schools.  Mr. Harris was a member of the Durbin Lions Club and he served as principal of Green Bank High School for twenty-five years. Mrs. Harris was an elementary school teacher.  Mr. and Mrs. Harris were dedicated to their students and went the extra mile to help them.  Many times this help involved some form of financial assistance and the Virgil and Macel Harris Scholarship will provide a one- time financial gift to a qualifying Pocahontas County High School senior who is planning to attend an accredited two or four year post secondary school.

In order to be considered for this scholarship, the student must:

(1)  Submit an official transcript along with a copy of the senior year report cards and progress reports.

(2)  Submit a description of courses taken that the title does not fully explain what the class is.

(3)  Submit a list of school and community activities engaged in during high school

and any special honors or recognitions received.

(4)  Submit three references – Two of these references must be completed by  teachers of the academic subject areas (English, Math, Science, Foreign Languages, and/or Social Studies) and one from a person outside of the school system(not a relative).  The references must have the signature of the person making the recommendation.

(5)  Submit a well-written, developed, grammatically correct essay entitled:  "Why I Should Be Awarded the Harris Scholarship".

The applications will be reviewed by a committee composed of local community members and the recipient of the scholarship will be announced during the Awards Program at PCHS. 

This is not a renewable scholarship.  The amount of the scholarship varies depending on the interest rate but it is usually several hundred dollars.

Interested parties should contact the Durbin Lions Club for more information.

Harris Scholarship Recipients
Year Name
2008 Kurt Mothes
2009 Stacy McPaters
2010 Bree Eberbaugh
2011 Rachel Cain
2012 Chasten Taylor
2013 Heather Snead
2014 Fredricah Gardner
2015 Danielle Cain
2016 Audrey Lore
2017 Kayla Gibson
2018 Catlyn Sparks


Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online