Our History

by: Charter Member & Club Historian Lion Marcella "Marcie" Q. Cabico

With the thought of forming a new Lions Club in Kapolei and under the leadership of Lion Antonio Leon-Guerrero, Lion Ampy Cabico and Lion Amado Bermuda, our club was founded in 2003.

With the tremendous help and alot of hard work from many of our pioneer Lions, like the late PDG Lion Tom Tanji from the Leeward Oahu LC, PID Lion Mel Nakamura from Manoa/Waioli LC and PDG Lion Ernie Chang from the Chinatown LC, we were able to form a new club that we called Kapolei City Lions Club.

With the help and support of the Makakilo-Kapolei LC under the leadership of then President Lion Ed Ryglewicz, our club was formed.  Makakilo-Kapolei LC became our Sponsoring Club.

We started with 28 energetic and enthusiastic Charter Members.

Kapolei City Lions Club was organized on October 31, 2003. We received our Charter designation on November 23, 2003.

We had  an unforgettable and memorable Inaugural Charter Celebration held at the Ho-Ho's Chinese Restaurant on November 23, 2003.  It was well attended by many...many Lions from various clubs all over Oahu.

We had three Guiding Lions when we first started.  1st... the late PDG Lion Tom Tanji,  2nd... Zone Chairperson Barbara Keola from Lualualei LC and    3rd... the late Lion Adrian Silva Jr. also from Lualualei LC. With their patience, guidance and knowledge about Lionism we learned and persevered.  

Lion Antonio Leon-Guerrero AKA Lion Leon was our first Club President and Lion Marcie Cabico was our Charter Club Secretary.

The following Lions served as our Club's President in the past:

2003-2005  Lion Antonio Leon-Guerrero

2005-2006  Lion Carmie Namocot

2006-2007  Lion Donald Yamato

2007-2008  Lion Ampy Cabico

2008-2009  Lion Marcie Cabico

2009-2012  Lion Paul Berardo

2012-2013  Lion Trini Rita

2013-2014  Lion Paul Berardo

2014-2016  Lion Elaine Lau

2016-2017  Lion Carmie Namocot

2017-2018  Lion Thelma Aiwohi

2018-2019  Lion Carmie Namocot

2019-2020  Lion Judith Datzman

2020-2021  Lion Puna Nouchi

2021-    Lion Thelma Aiwohi


Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online