The Autaugaville Lions Club (ID # 12333) was organized on August 13, 1951 by Mr. Clarence C. DenHerder, of Montgomery, a special representative of the International Association of Lions Clubs. With 21 Charter Members in attendance at Hicks Memorial School, the Lions Club of Autaugaville evolved under the sponsorship of the Lions Club of Prattville and has remained active to date. Mr. James B. Neighbors was named President of the club. Other Officers were 1st Vice President: Mr. W.H. Gaines Jr, 2nd Vice President: Mr. James D. Dismukes and Secretary-Treasurer: Mr. R.G. Davis.

Meetings were scheduled for the second and fourth Mondays of each month beginning at 7:30 p.m. in the summer and 7:00 p.m. the rest of the year. Today the club still meets on the second and fourth Mondays of each month but the time is 7:00 p.m. year round.

The formal Charter Night was held at the Hicks Memorial Gymnasium on October 8, 1951. The club charter was presented by District Governor; Aubrey D. Green of York, AL. From the time of the organizing of the club to the formal recognition; membership had grown to 52 Charter Members.

The club met at Hicks Memorial School Lunch Room from 1951 until 1992. In September 1992 the meeting place was changed to William Howard Smith Agricultural Center.

In 1993 location of Annual Bar-B-Q was moved from Autaugaville High School (Hicks Memorial) to the R. H. Kirkpatrick Arena.

In March of 2002, the Autaugaville Lions Club proudly approved membership for its first female member (Mrs. Cindy Tillerson). The club now has three female members, and welcomes other females who share the goal of “LIONISM” to apply for membership.

Autaugaville Lions Club has sponsored many projects as fundraisers. Some of the projects were roadblocks, rodeos, Bar-B-Q’s, dances, turkey shoots, peanut sales, selling ad books and operating the concession stand at R. H. Kirkpatrick for various events.  Our biggest fundraisers continue to be the annual Bar-B-Q (54th) and Horse Show (10th).

Over the past 60 years the club has helped with numerous community projects. It has sponsored youth athletic teams and leagues, provided assistance to town organizations and donated funds to schools and civic groups.

The club has also provided financial assistance to those in need.

Autaugaville Lions Club currently has 57 members of which 54 are males and 3 are females. Mr. B. Russell Wood and Mr. James J. Plaster, both active members today, were one of the original Charter members.

Eighteen current members have served as President of the Club for one or more terms. B. Russell Wood (2); James J. Plaster; Rufus S. Pearson (2); Milton A. Wendland; C. Milton Johnson (2); William E. Hester (2); Winford Palmer; Donald Tyus; Lee Pittman; Garner Clark; Andrew Wendland; Carlton R. Jones (2); James D. Brothers; Jerry McMichael; Frank Plaster; William J. Williams (2); Patrick Clements; and Dennis M. Carmichael(2).

William J. Williams, a member of the Club since January 2001, has been elected District Governor for District 34-B. He will serve from July 2011 until June 2012.

Throughout its history the Autaugaville Lions Club has been committed to service to its community and citizens.  Club meetings are devoted to planning civic events designed to meet the challenges and needs of the town of Autaugaville and Autauga County. Members live by the simple motto “WE SERVE”.

Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online