Club History

The Ailsa Craig & District Lions club was formed in May 1971 with 30 members. Our sponsoring club was the Lucan Lions Club and we received our charter at the Parkhill Lions Club in October 1971.

Charter Officers were:

President - Don Shipway, 1st Vice President - Carm Pickering, 2nd Vice President - Ken Jones, Secretary - Marshal Dearing, Treasurer - Cam Wadsworth.

Charter Members were:

Geralrd Austin, Earl Rees, Dale Roth, Wayne Schlegel, Merlon Bender, Tom Rees, Joe Leyton, Bob Hooper, Ken Jones, Fraser Harris, Derek Turner, Eric Slater, Marvin Jones, Les Morley, Emerson McKay, Don Gilbert, Don Shipway, Al Bulgin, Andy Stewart, Dawson McGregor, Bernie Munroe, Murray Dixon, Milt Lightfoot, Marshal Dearing, Charlie Garrod, Rayburn Steeper, Bob Doerr, Carmen Pickering, Cam Wadsworth, Norm Lewis.

The first meeting hall was at the Ailsa Craig town hall with the Women's Institute catering the meals. The club later moved their meeting to the Ailsa Craig Legion with the Legion Auxiliary providing the meals. We then moved our meetings to the Pinewood Restaurant and from there we went to the Ye Olde Town Hall. from there we held our meetings at a room in the Warehousing Unlimited which was dinated to the Lions. We are currently holding our meetings at the Ye Olde Town Hall, 160 Main Street. Our meals are held at the Ye Old Town Hall when we have visitors.

Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online