Camp Lion of Lynn
A wooded rustic area dedicated to the
Recreational, Educational and Habitable
use of the surrounding communities
Main Lodge Entrance
Camp Lion came into existence in 1946. It consisted of approximately 150 acres. The lions of the day thought it beneficial to keep an area forever wild as a refuge because of the urban expansion taking place throughout the communities. It's primary use was for the Girl Scouts to afford them an experience away from urban life. Brush was cleared, trees planted, trails developed and buildings built. It has grown to where today as there are several facilities available for the community and is used virtually year 'round by various groups and organizations.
In the 1960s the land was further developed with additional buildings exclusively used by Camp Fire for Girls and Boys affectionately know as Camp Waluta. A swimming pool was also built and a trail was developed connecting the two camps.
Over time several portions were sold to help defray cost of maintaining the land and buildings. 10 Acres, called "the swamp" was sold to Rich's Department store which is now a Wal Mart. The City of Salem took 4 acres by eminent domain to build a water tower and another parcel was transferred as payment for developing a road to the back part of the property. Currently there is a purchase and sale agreement in place to sell another parcel for commercial development.
In the 1980s cable television came along looking to lease land for a tower. This proved beneficial. Later cell phone towers came along and they all rented space from us for their towers.
Today Lions and their guests visit and hold functions during the course of the year. While there, they walk the trails in the woods and fields leaving the suburban life behind at least for a little while.