The Carmel Host Lions acknowledge the many contributions of our members and are very proud of their commitment to serve the community. Whether organizing fundraising events, educating and informing the members and public through our speaker series or offering volunteer support for vital community and city events, we have an active and award-winning membership.


2021 Award Winners

Nick Nicholson - In May 2021, Lion President Nick was awarded a Don Stanaway Fellowship from the Lions Eye Foundation for his continued support of the Carmel Host Lions Club and its projects and goals.  

2020 Award Winners

Mike Kanalakis - Melvin Jones Award. Lion Clubs International Foundation's highest form of recognition to acknowledge an individual's dedication to humanitarian service.


Linda Frye - Don Stanaway Fellow Award. The Lions Eye Foundation's award for contributions to the club throughout the year.

Dave Petersen and Joyce Taylor - Bronze Fellow Awards. An award of the A.J. Robinson Foundation for commitment to the Lion's mission of advocacy and service to the blind and visually impaired.



Congratulations to our award winners and thank you all for your contributions!


Melvin Jones Awards

The Carmel Host Lions Club is grateful to our Melvin Jones Award winners for sharing their time and energy in support of our Club, the mission of Lions Club International and our community.

  Dave Banks          Wendy Banks           Elio Chiappe          John Durein

  Jackie Finley         JoAnn Holbrook       Lila Johnson          Mike Kanalakis

  Don Kirk                Judy Kirk                  Tom Korper          J.R. Luster      

  Nick Nicholson      Henry Phillips



                                                   2017 Awards Dinner


                                     2017 Lion of the Year, Elio Chiappe


                                    Helen Keller Fellow, Wendy Banks



                             Accolades for our outgoing President, Nick Nicholson



     We welcome our newest Carmel Host Lions Club member, Linda Frye


2015 Award Winners

Melvin Jones Award Winner JoAnn Holbrook

Melvin Jones Award Winner Judy Kirk


Accolades for outgoing President Dave Banks

Lions Clubs International News
Connect with Us Online